Aberdeen drivers continue domination of Mobridge Derby


By Jay Davis

Out-of-town teams came, saw and conquered at the Mobridge Demolition Derby on Saturday at Mobridge Rodeo Grounds.
In fact, all the local drivers were beaten in the opening rounds and sent to the consolation round.
When the flying mud died down and smoke cleared, Team Black and Maroon, a team of drivers from Aberdeen and Cogswell, N.D., won the first-place trophy and the champions’ check for $4,500. For two of the drivers, winning the Mobridge derby is becoming old hat. Aberdeen drivers Jeff Swanson and Kirby Smith have now been on the winning team for three straight years. Cogswell drivers Shay Walden and Dukey Skroch are both first-time winners in the Bridge City.
Heavy Impact, with drivers Mike Duenwald of Hoven, Ryan Sanve of Tolstoy and Houston Forsting and Chris Jung of Aberdeen, finished in second to make $2,500.
Team Blue took third place and $1,000. Driving for the team were Bret Stringer of Bismarck, N.D., and Eric Fuher, Mike Thorpe and Jim Schmidt of Ellendale, N.D.
After taking third last year, Team Scream of Dupree and parts beyond had to settle for fourth place. Cody and Brady Birkeland of Dupree, along with Randy (Chuck) Brown of Winner and Kelly Smith of Gillette, Wyo., nabbed the fourth-place check for $500. Brown earned another $500 by winning the Mad Dog Award as the hardest hitter of the championship round.
A Bridge City team changed its name, but finished just like last year in winning the consolation title. Last year’s Miller Lite Wrecking Crew was this year’s Revenge of the Nerds with Mobridge drivers Josh and Aaron Fischer, Wade Sandland and Darin Kessler behind the steering wheels. The consolation title was worth $1,000.
After helping his Three Fat Guys and a Skinny Guy teammates take second place last year, Nic Geiger of Mandan, N.D., had to settle for the Mad Dog Award and $200 from the consolation derby.
Jeff Christman of Pollock won the first place $500 and the Mad Dog Award plaque in the Limited Build Class. Mike Michalek took second and Derrick Orth took third.
This year’s derby took in a paid attendance of 1,289 fans, the second largest crowd in the derby’s history.

Want to read more?

Click here to subscribe to our online e-edition or click here to have our print edition delivered to your door.


Mobridge Spotlight



News Archive