FSA consolidation plan includes Campbell County

By Katie Zerr

The Farm Service Agency office in Campbell County is one of four South Dakota county offices that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has proposed closing as part of an effort to save $150 million a year.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the proposed closures, which also includes offices in Jerauld, Buffalo and Kadoka counties, of 259 USDA offices, labs and other facilities on Monday, Jan. 12.

The list also includes the Rapid City Food, Nutrition and Consumer Services Office.

The four office closures will impact four permanent employees across the state.

“Currently there are no full-time employees at the Campbell office,” said State Executive Director of the FSA. “If the consolidation plan is implemented producers will have the option of on where to go to do their business. Walworth will be the designated county office, but they can chose McPherson County if it is closer.”

Schaunamen said if a producer does not choose a county office, that work will automatically move to the Walworth County office. He said producers may also chose Emmons County in North Dakota if that office is closer.

Producers can voice their opinions on the consolidation in Campbell County on Thursday, Jan. 26, at 10 a.m. at the Community Center in Mound City.

They may also make written comments by emailing sdstatereview@sd.usda.gov or sending letters to Schaunaman at South Dakota Farm Service Agency, 200 Fourth St. SW, Huron, S.D., 57350 no later than Monday, Feb. 6.

Want to read more?

Click here to subscribe to our online e-edition or click here to have our print edition delivered to your door.


Mobridge Spotlight



News Archive