Tigers wrestle well against top North Dakota squads

By Jay Davis

The Tiger wrestlers won one of three matches at the Linton-HMB quadrangular in Linton on Thursday.The Tigers defeated Harvey-Wells County 45-30, but dropped a 45-27 match to South Border and a 44-33 match to Linton-HMB. 

Despite losing two of three matches, the losses were to a pair of the top wrestling programs in North Dakota.

Forfeits made a difference. The Tigers went 1-2 in an abbreviated match against Harvey-Wells County. They were 5-6 on the mat against a South Border team that finished third at the North Dakota Class B tournament last year. They finished the night with a 6-5 record against Linton-HMB.

“We wrestled right with them,” said Coach Spencer Novotny. “We’re starting to figure this thing out. Some of the losses weren’t pins or technical falls. The kids fought hard.”

Sutton Sandquist was the only Tiger to earn three wins on the mat. Sandquist won a 6-3 decision over Quinten Koble of Harvey-Wells County before pinning Jace Schilling of South Border and Jared Schumacher of Linton-HMB.

Lucas Martin and Collin Jensen went 3-0 with two wins on the mat.

Martin beat Trevor Meidinger of South Border 5-0 and pinned Michael Rohrich of Linton-HMB.

Jensen stayed unbeaten with pins over Dillon Braaten of South Border and Nolan Meidinger of Linton-HMB.

Jake Carmody, Jayson Van Vugt, Daniel Hintz, Brady Spiry and Camerin Davis all had 2-1 nights. Jaden Madison was 0-2, while Grant Brewer and David Jensen suffered 0-3 nights.


Mobridge-Pollock 45

Harvey-Wells County 30

106: Jake Carmody, MP, won by forfeit; 113: Dustin Schmiess, HWC, won by forfeit; 120: Cody DeVogt, HWC, won by forfeit; 126: Iziah Walden, HWC, won by forfeit; 132: Blanco, HWC, won by forfeit; 138: Sutton Sandquist, MP, defeated Quinten Koble, HWC, 6-3; 145: Casey Muscha, HWC, defeated Grant Brewer, MP, 6-2; 152: Tanner Keller, HWC, defeated David Jensen, MP, 8-6; 160: Lucas Martin, MP, won by forfeit; 170: Jayson Van Vugt, MP, won by forfeit; 182: Daniel Hintz, MP, won by forfeit; 195: Brady Spiry, MP, won by forfeit; 220: Collin Jensen, MP, won by forfeit; 285: Camerin Davis, MP, won by forfeit.


Mobridge-Pollock 27

South Border 45

103: Jake Carmody, MP, pinned Jared Kaseman, SB; 113: Andrew Nolz, SB, defeated Jaden Madison, MP, 13-0; 120: Cole Ketterling, SB, won by forfeit; 126: Blake Bosch, SB, won by forfeit; 132: Tucker Meidinger, SB, won by forfeit; 138: Sutton Sandquist, MP, pinned Jace Schilling, SB; 145: Michael Wolf, SB, defeated Grant Brewer, MP, 16-0; 152: Drew Dockter, SB, pinned David Jensen, MP; 160: Lucas Martin, MP, defeated Trevor Meidinger, SB, 5-0; 170: Andrew Jochim, SB, defeated Jayson Van Vugt, MP, 10-4; 182: James Thiegles, SB, pinned Daniel Hintz, MP; 195: Chozey Schumacher, SB, defeated Brady Spiry, MP, 6-5; 220: Collin Jensen, MP, pinned Dillon Braaten, SB; 285: Camerin Davis, MP, pinned Richard Rico, SB.


Mobridge-Pollock 33

Linton-HMB 44

103: Kyle Moch, L, defeated Jake Carmody, MP, 12-5; 113: Chase Jacob, L, defeated Jaden Madison, MP, 19-1; 120: Trevor Martin, L, won by forfeit; 126: Andrew Leier, L, won by forfeit; 132: Rylan Jacob, L, won by forfeit; 138: Sutton Sandquist, MP, pinned Jared Schumacher, L; 145: Brock Nagel, L, pinned Grant Brewer, MP; 152: Clay Jacob, L, pinned David Jensen, MP; 160: Lucas Martin, MP, pinned Michael Rohrich, L; 170: Jayson Van Vugt, MP, pinned Jonathan Oien, L; 182: Daniel Hintz, MP, defeated Ethen Roemmich, L, 12-10; 195: Brady Spiry, MP, pinned Cody Schlosser, L; 220: Collin Jensen, MP, pinned Nolan Meidinger, L; 285: Alex Gross, L, pinned Camerin Davis, MP

Want to read more?

Click here to subscribe to our online e-edition or click here to have our print edition delivered to your door.


Mobridge Spotlight



News Archive