Three Tigers named to All-Big Dakota team


By Jay Davis

Three Tigers were named to the Big Dakota Conference All-Conference Basketball Team. From left are Zach Dockter, Mitch Heumiller and Daniel Roberts.

Three Tigers were named to the Big Dakota Conference All-Conference Basketball Team. From left are Zach Dockter, Mitch Heumiller and Daniel Roberts.

After leading the Tigers to a 19-7 record, conference, district and region titles and fourth in state, three Mobridge-Pollock players have been named to the Big Dakota Conference All-Conference Basketball Team.
Earning the distinction for the Tigers are seniors Daniel Roberts and Zach Dockter and junior Mitch Heumiller.
The trio put up some big numbers in leading the Tigers to the Big Dakota Conference championship.
Roberts led the Tigers in conference play with 120 points, an average of 17 points per game. His biggest games were: 21 points, nine rebounds and four assists in the team’s 63-47 win over Chamberlain; 20 points and eight rebounds in the 73-41 win over McLaughlin; and 21 points, nine rebounds and four blocked shots in the 70-55 loss at Winner.
Dockter led the team from his point guard position while scoring 15.6 points per game in BDC play. Dockter scored a career-high 27 points and hit three treys in the 76-44 win over Stanley County, hit 23 points in the 67-48 win over Miller and scored 18 points with five assists in the 70-62 win over Todd County.
Heumiller scored exactly 100 points in conference play for a 14.3-point average. He scored 19 points and picked off six steals in the win over Chamberlain, scored 17 points and dished out five assists in the 58-52 win over Cheyenne-Eagle Butte, and added another 19 points in the win over Stanley County.
Joining the Tiger trio on the all-BDC team are: juniors Xavier Norris and Cray Allen of Cheyenne-Eagle Butte; senior Lee Sivertsen of Miller; senior Gage Basting and junior Skyler Bertram of Chamberlain; seniors Ben Connot and Isiah Old Lodge of Winner; and seniors Zach Cox and Kellen Herman of Todd County.
Earning honorable mention are: sophomore Payton Tiokasin of McLaughlin; senior Kevin Anderson of Stanley County; senior Drew Bielke of Miller; junior Reuben Estes of Chamberlain; senior Tanner Fritz of Winner; and senior Hehaka Nunpa of Todd County
The Tigers won the Big Dakota Conference with a 6-1 record. Miller was second at 5-1; followed by Chamberlain at 5-2, Winner at 4-2, Todd County at 4-3, Cheyenne-Eagle Butte at 3-4, McLaughlin at 1-6 and Stanley County at 0-7.
The discrepancy in the number of games played is because Miller and Winner chose to not make up their game after it was postponed due to a winter storm late in the regular season.

Big Dakota Conference All-Conference Basketball Team
First Team: Zach Dockter, Mobridge-Pollock, 5’11,” sr.; Daniel Roberts, Mobridge-Pollock, 6’2,” sr.; Mitch Heumiller, Mobridge-Pollock, 6’1,” jr.; Xavier Norris, Cheyenne-Eagle Butte, 6’3,” jr.; Cray Allen, Cheyenne-Eagle Butte, 6’3,” jr.; Lee Sivertsen, Miller, 6’2,” sr.; Gage Basting, Chamberlain, 6’2,” sr.; Skyler Bertram, Chamberlain, 6’2,” jr.; Ben Connot, Winner, 5’10,” sr.; Isiah Old Lodge, Winner, 6’2,” sr.; Zach Cox, Todd County, 5’11,” sr.; Kellen Herman, Todd County, 6’1,” sr.
Honorable Mention: Payton Tiokasin, McLaughlin, 6’0,” soph.; Kevin Anderson, Stanley County, 6’4,” sr.; Drew Bielke, Miller, 5’7,” sr.; Reuben Estes, Chamberlain, 6’0,” jr.; Tanner Fritz, Winner, 6’2,” sr.; Hehaka Nunpa, Todd County, 6’2,” sr.

Want to read more?

Click here to subscribe to our online e-edition or click here to have our print edition delivered to your door.


Mobridge Spotlight



News Archive