Klein Museum wins SDHS award


Klein Museum in Mobridge has received the Organizational Award from the South Dakota Historical Society.

The award was established in 1989 and is given annually to one organization whose efforts demonstrate outstanding dedication and commitment to excellence in the sharing and preservation of South Dakota history.

In order to win this award, the organization must be shown to have been a staunch supporter of South Dakota history, and it must show exemplary service to this cause.

“The award strengthens our desire to continue to make Klein Museum one of the best experiences that visitors will have as they travel northern South Dakota,” said Diane Kindt, curator of the museum. “‘Preserving the Past for Those Stepping into the Future’ will always be at the forefront of every project that the museum does.”

Nominations may be made by anyone. Mobridge resident Rick Christman nominated the museum for the 2013 award.

The nominees are screened and one candidate recommended to the State Historical Society Board of Trustees by the committee, which is made up of three Board of Trustee members appointed by the Board President). The Society Board of Trustees makes the final approval.

The museum staff will receive a personalized award and Klein Museum will be listed on the Governor’s Awards for History display in the Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre.

The State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) manages the National Register of Historic Places program of the National Park Service in South Dakota. The program surveys, inventories, and registers historical properties; monitors state, federal, and local government activities which affect cultural and historic resources; provides advice on preservation methods; promotes public education on historical properties; and supports municipal and county historic preservation commissions to advance the state’s economic, social, and educational objectives.

“As the museum looks to the future the staff will continue to add to the timeline of outdoor displays. An old log cabin will be moved to the museum grounds as soon as the finances are available,” said Kindt. “We thank Rick Christman for nominating the museum for this annual award given by the South Dakota Historical Society. It is an honor for everyone who is involved. The community should be thrilled to know we are among the best organizations in the state.”

Judy Curran, president of the museum board of directors will accept the award at a dinner reception on Saturday, May 4, in Rapid City.

– Katie Zerr –


Want to read more?

Click here to subscribe to our online e-edition or click here to have our print edition delivered to your door.


Mobridge Spotlight



News Archive