Burkhalter, Flatt win Mobridge-Pollock titles


By Jay Davis

Hannah Flatt of Potter County pulls away from the pack.

Hannah Flatt of Potter County pulls away from the pack.

Nathan Burkhalter of Bison and Hannah Flatt of Potter County won titles at the Mobridge-Pollock cross country meet at Oahe Hills Golf Course on Saturday.
Burkhalter blew the field away. He ran the course in 15 minutes, 17 seconds. He beat runner-up Gage Jewett of Timber Lake by two minutes, 38 seconds.
Flatt led an all-Battler race. Flatt took the title by running a 17:09. Teammates Sarah McClure and Delanie Larson took second and third, respectively.
The Tigers and Lady Tigers were in the middle of the pack in the abbreviated field.
ReAnne Kohlus had the top finish. Kohlus took sixth place in the girls’ division with a time of 18:31. Mary Martin finished 12th with a time of 20:16.
Justin Nobles ran an 18:53 to finish seventh in the boys’ division. Sam Weleba ran a 20:06 and came in ninth.
“I was very happy with all of the runners’ performances,” said coach Stephen Hettick. ‘We have many athletes who are new to the sport and still trying to find their own pace and style. I thought they did very well for the first meet of the year, and for many of them, the first meet of their careers.”
The younger runners had some success on the home course. Justin Jacobs finished third and Aaron Jacobs fourth in the boys’ junior varsity race. Emma Fulkerson finished fourth, Tyrel Thompson ninth, Abigail Keller 10th and Alexa Looyenga 11th in the girls junior high race.
The Tigers and Lady Tigers will run at the Redfield-Doland Invitational on Thursday and the Webster Invitational on Monday.

Mobridge-Pollock Invitational
Boys Division
1. Daniel Burkhalter, Bison, 15:17; 2. Gage Jewett, Timber Lake, 17:55; 3. Sam Stretches, Solen, 18:14; 4. Shane Kramme, Stanley County, 18:19; 5. Seth VanDenHemel, Stanley County, 18:20; 6. Shanley VanDenHemel, Stanley County, 18:21; 7. Justin Nobles, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:53; 8. Kordell Arnold, McIntosh, 19:34; 9. Sam Weleba, Mobridge-Pollock, 20:06; 10. Brevin Klemann, Stanley County, 20:11; 11. Josh McKinstrey, Bison, 20:46; 12. Colt Grey Cloud, Solen, 21:35; 13. Jett Grey Cloud, Solen, 22:12.

Girls Division
1. Hannah Flatt, Potter County, 17:09; 2. Sarah McClure, Potter County, 17:30; 3. Delanie Larson, Potter County, 17:53; 4. Jana Blue Arm, Lemmon, 18:02; 5. Kelsey VanDenHemel, Stanley County, 18:19; 6. ReAnne Kohlus, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:31; 7. Mary Aberle, Timber Lake, 18:51; 8. Jessica Nehl, McIntosh, 18:55; 9. Bailie Beer, Lemmon, 18:55; 10. Brady Beer, Lemmon, 19:57; 11. Shayna Engel, Faith, 20:03; 12. Mary Martin, Mobridge-Pollock, 20:16; 13. Emma Weyand, Potter County, 20:39.

Want to read more?

Click here to subscribe to our online e-edition or click here to have our print edition delivered to your door.


Mobridge Spotlight



News Archive