Rabenberg, Wagner named All-BDC


By Jay Davis

Maranda Wagner (left) and Ellie Rabenberg

Maranda Wagner (left) and Ellie Rabenberg

Senior outside hitter Ellie Rabenberg and junior libero Maranda Wagner have been named to the All-Big Dakota Conference Volleyball Team.
“Both Ellie and Maranda are very coachable players,” said coach Keri Bolduan. “We have enjoyed coaching them since third grade. They will do whatever is needed for the benefit of the team.”
Rabenberg was the leading offensive player for the 18-10 Lady Tigers. She had 206 kills, while hitting at an 80-percent success rate. She was also a leading server with 71 aces, while helping the defense with 199 digs.
Wagner was the Lady Tigers’ top defender, coming up with 501 digs from her libero position. She went past the 1,000-dig mark in the Region 6A tournament opening round win over Crow Creek. Wagner is making her second straight appearance on the All-BDC team. She was a member of the honorable mention team last fall.
“Ellie and Maranda were both team captains this year and were great leaders for their teammates,” said Bolduan. “They are both amazing young ladies.”
The Lady Tigers are joined by: senior outside hitter Shayla Gayton of McLaughlin; senior outside hitter Kaleb Shepherd of Cheyenne-Eagle Butte; seniors setter Sara Husher, outside hitter Cassidy Hanson and outside hitter Lindsay Calhoun of Winner; junior middle hitters Jamie Mentzer and Kristen Peterka of Miller; senior setter Kennedy Wagner of Chamberlain; senior outside hitter Cat Jansen of Todd County; and senior outside hitter Hailey Norman of Stanley County.
Five more players were named as honorable mention players, including: junior setter McKenna Vetter of McLaughlin; senior middle hitter Tiffany Shaving of Cheyenne-Eagle Butte; junior setter Denae Schlechter of Miller; senior setter Abbey Handel of Chamberlain; and senior setter Emily Richter of Winner.

Do you want to read our entire newspaper online for an affordable price? Then you will love our e-Edition! Click Here to Subscribe to our e-Edition Today!