Grapplers win two of three in Milbank


By Jay Davis

The wrestling Tigers had a successful outing on their first-ever trip to the Milbank Quadrangular, winning two out of three matches. The Tigers ripped Sioux Valley 61-18 and Groton Area 54-22 but succumbed to the Class A hosts 60-15.
“We wrestled pretty well,” said coach Spencer Novotny, adding that it was good to see the younger wrestlers get on the mat. He was not happy, however, with the pounding his Tigers took from Milbank.
The Tigers won eight matches and picked up three forfeits in the win over Sioux Valley. Jaden Shepherd, Isaac Olson, Jaden Madison, Bray Harrison, Stone Jensen, Andrea Murri, Chase Schoenhard and Brett Lang all won on the mat.
Groton Area did not fill many weight classes. The Tigers picked up six forfeits and went 4-1 on the mat with Justin Nobles, Killian Warner, Dalton Martian and Olson picking up the wins.
It took the Tigers until Martian at 182 pounds to earn a win against Milbank. Martian won a decision before Schoen-hard and Lang had back-to-back pins.

The Tigers will make their annual trip to Presho this weekend as Lyman hosts the Mid-Dakota Monster on Friday and Saturday.
Along with graduated Brady Spiry winning the title last season, Schoenhard, Lang and David Jensen all took sixth place.

Mobridge-Pollock                                    61
Sioux Valley                                             18
106: Jaden Shepherd, MP, pinned Jamison Stew, SV, :48; 113: Aaron Elijah, SV, pinned Justin Nobles, MP, :51; 120: Isaac Olson, MP, defeated Tanner Sheets, SV, 10-1; 126: Nathan Bauer, MP, won by forfeit; 132: Jaden Madison, MP, defeated Alec Bultje, SV, 9-4; 138: Bray Harrison, MP, pinned Matt Larson, SV, 1:39; 145: Stone Jensen, MP, pinned Landon Stevens, SV, 2:44; 152: Chance Goodfellow, SV, pinned Killian Warner, MP, 1:09; 160: Andrea Murri, MP, pinned Andrew Mullaney, SV, 1:14; 170: Joseph Avalos, MP, lost by DQ; 182: Dalton Martian, MP, won by forfeit; 195: Chase Schoenhard, MP, pinned Silas Larsen, SV, 3:11;220: Brett Lang, MP, pinned Cade Goodfellow, SV, 4:43; 285: Quentin Fish, MP, won by forfeit.

Mobridge-Pollock                                    54
Groton Area                                             22
103: Justin Nobles, MP, pinned Trevor Pray, GA, 5:54; 113: Jaden Shepherd, MP, won by forfeit; 120: Isaac Olson, MP, pinned Wyatt Locke, GA, 4:41; 126: Kelby Hawksins, GA, defeated Jaden Madison, MP, 12-0; 132: Nathan Bauer, MP, won by forfeit; 138: Bray Harrison, MP, won by forfeit; 145: Jeric Albrecht, GA, won by forfeit; 152: Killian Warner, MP, pinned Parker Kroll, GA, 2:45; 160: Andrea Murri, MP, won by forfeit; 170: Joseph Avalos, MP, won by forfeit; 182: No match; 195: Dalton Martian, MP, pinned Brandyn Anderson, GA, 3:09; 220: Brett Lang, MP, won by forfeit; 285: Quentin Fish, MP, won by forfeit.

Mobridge-Pollock                                15
Milbank                                                   60
103: Hunter Burnett, M, pinned Justin Nobles, MP, :54; 113: Jaden Shepherd, MP, was pinned, 1:31; 120: Dylan Pauli, M, pinned Isaac Olson, MP, 1:25; 126: Jake Anderson, M, defeated Nathan Bauer, MP, 8-1; 132: Riley VanSamBeek, M, pinned Jaden Madison, MP, 1:59; 138: Riley Folk, M, pinned Bray Harrison, MP, 5:12; 145: Mark VanDover, M, pinned Stone Jensen, MP, :55; 152: Zach Austin, M, pinned Killian Warner, MP, 2:45; 160: William Hins, M, pinned Andrea Murri, MP, 3:31; 170: Ryker Reil, M, pinned Joseph Avalos, MP, 3:38; 182: Dalton Martian, MP, defeated Chris Loutsch, M, 5-3; 195: Chase Schoenhard, MP, pinned Jose Chen, M, 1:44; 220: Brett Lang, MP, pinned Caden Wollschlager, M, 1:00; 285: Tanner Kettwig, M, defeated Quentin Fish, MP, 6-4.

Want to read more?

Click here to subscribe to our online e-edition or click here to have our print edition delivered to your door.


Mobridge Spotlight



News Archive