Tigers win sweep at Faulkton Quadrangular


By Jay Davis

The Tigers pulled off a coup with a three-match sweep at the Faulkton Quadrangular on Thursday.
The Tigers defeated Ipswich-Leola 36-9, Miller/Highmore-Harrold 39-33 and Faulkton Area 42-30.
“I cannot explain how proud I am with our guys,” said coach Spencer Novotny. “Those who do not follow wrestling won’t understand the team effort it took to beat Miller and Faulkton. This was my first win against Miller as a coach and I could not be happier with the momentum we have going into our home quad.”
The Faulkton match was tied at 30-30 when Chase Schoen-hard, who moved up to 220 pounds, stepped onto the mat with the Trojans’ Alec Lee. Schoenhard put Lee on his back at 5:45, putting the Tigers ahead for good.
“Chase pinning the number five of six rated guy in state sealed us the dual win,” said Novotny. “We knew we had some tough guys, but we fought all match and never gave up bonus points.”
Key wins for the Tigers came from Isaac Olson, Nathan Bauer, Stone Jensen and Joseph Avalos.
“All of our young guys did great,” said Novotny.
The Tigers went just 4-7 in matches wrestled against Miller/Highmore-Harrold, but used key pins to stay close before taking the match with forfeit points in the end.
“People will say that they won more matches,” said Novotny, “but we expected wins there anyway.”
The forfeits at the end that put the Tigers ahead went to Schoenhard and Quentin Fish, but had their been matches, Brett Lang would have taken the mat at 285 pounds.
While Miller/Highmore-Harrold was winning by decisions, Olson, Jaden Madison and David Jensen won by pin, while Bray Harrison won by decision.
The Ipswich-Leola match did not take long. There were just four matches. The Tigers won two with Jaden Shepherd and Stone Jensen getting the wins. The Tigers kept the score down by not taking any forfeits after the 152-pound weight class. In other matches: Faulkton Area defeated Ipswich-Leola 72-11; Miller/Highmore-Harrold defeated Faulkton Area 58-18; Miller/Highmore-Harrold defeated Ipswich-Leola 48-16.

Faulkton Quadrangular
Mobridge-Pollock                                    36
Ipswich-Leola                                            9
103: Jaden Shepherd, MP, pinned Colton Weeldreyer, IL, :58; Justin Nobles, MP, won by forfeit; 120: Isaac Olson, MP, won by forfeit; 126: Jaden Madison, MP, won by forfeit; 132: Lane Peterson, IL, defeated Bray Harrison, MP, 12-0; 138: Stone Jensen, MP, pinned Nick Brandner, IL, 3:12; 145: Open; 152: Alex Marsh, IL, defeated Killian Warner, MP, 18-3.

Mobridge-Pollock                                    39
Miller/Highmore-Harrold                         33
103: J.C. Forman, MHH, defeated Jaden Shepherd, MP, 15-3; 113: Connor Bertsch, MHH, pinned Justin Nobles, MP, :52; 120: Isaac Olson, MP, pinned Blade Forman, MHH, 3:03; 126: Carter Canham, MHH, defeated Nathan Bauer, MP, 5-2; 132: Jaden Madison, MP, pinned Barry Johnson, MHH, 5:05; 138: Bray Harrison, MP, defeated Riley Rinehart, MHH, 5-2; 145: Glenn Aymar, MHH, pinned Stone Jensen, MP, 1:12; 152: Devon Gnat, MHH, defeated Killian Warner, MP, major decision 12-2; 160: Paul Waring, MHH, defeated Andrea Murri, MP, 11-0; 170: Jaxson Brueggeman, MHH, pinned Dalton Martian, MP, 5:19; 182: Joseph Avalos, MP, won by forfeit; 195: David Jensen, MP, pinned Jack Jones, MHH, :55; 220: Chase Schoenhard, MP, won by forfeit; 285: Quinten Fish, MP, won by forfeit.

Mobridge-Pollock                                    42
Faulkton Area                                          30
103: Gannon Martinmaas, FA, defeated Jaden Shepherd, MP, 13-5; 113: Alex Aesoph, FA, defeated Justin Nobles, MP, 11-0; 120: Isaac Olson, MP, pinned Andrew Edgar, FA, 3:42; 126: Oliver Aesoph, FA, defeated Jaden Madison, MP, 16-3; 132: Nathan Bauer, MP, defeated Joe Holsing, FA, 13-9; 138: Bray Harrison, MP, won by forfeit; 145: Stone Jensen, MP, defeated Adam Anderson, FA, 12-5; 152: Riley Potter, FA, pinned Killian Warner, MP, 1:42; 160: Truman Weyand, FA, pinned Andrea Murri, FA, 1:05; 170: Joseph Avalos, MP, pinned Matt Holsing, FA, 3:51; 182: Lane Meyer, FA, pinned Dalton Martian, MP, 1:37; 195: David Jensen, MP, won by forfeit; 220: Chase Schoenhard, MP, pinned Alec Lee, FA, 5:45; 285: Brett Lang, MP, won by forfeit.

Want to read more?

Click here to subscribe to our online e-edition or click here to have our print edition delivered to your door.


Mobridge Spotlight



News Archive