Mobridge Weather

wind speed: 16 mph S

Area elections will bring new faces to cities, school boards

Area residents will be going to the polls on Tuesday, April 10, to elect new members to the city councils and town boards and school boards.
In Mobridge, two people are vying for the seat in Ward II, incumbent Jeff Landreaux and challenger Peggy Jackson (see candidates questions in this issue.)
There will also be an election for the three-year term seat on the Mobridge-Pollock School Board currently held by Jane Looyenga, who is not seeking re-election.
Dr. Travis Henderson and Todd Wagner, both of Mobridge, are vying for the seat.
Wagner has previously served on the board. (See candidate questions on page 2.)
In other area races there is no need for an election for a seat on the Selby City Council. Current Ward III councilman Roger Walker is not seeking re-election. Matt Hein filed a petition for that seat and will serve on the council.
Other seats up for election on the Selby City Council but not challenged were in Ward I, C.J. Niemiller; Ward II, Don Knecht; and Ward III, Jim Kihne.
There is no need for an election for the Java Town Board, although there is still an open spot on the board for a three-year term.
No petitions were filed for the seat currently held by Shane Ladwig. The board will have to appoint someone to fill that three-year seat.
Petitions were filed by Donna Bieber for a three-year term, Merlyn Melcher for the two-year term and Pat Schnaible for the one-year term.
In Akaska, there is no need for a city election. David Heier will fill the seat on the town board currently held by Bill Waeckerle who is not seeking re-election.
There will be no election in Timber Lake. The city council positions are currently held by Tim Gunderson in Ward I; Josh Lemburg, Lilian Turcotte in Ward II; and Mike LeCompte and Tom Hermes in Ward III. There is also a vacant seat in Ward I, which can be filled by appointment.
In Pollock, there will not be a city election for the open town board positions as one incumbent, Paige Meyer filed a petition to serve another three years and the board will appoint someone to fill the other open position. Brent Odde will not seek re-election and his position will be filled by appointment. In Herreid, there will be elections in both the city and Herreid school board elections.
In Ward I, James Haak, the incumbent is being challenged by Paul Weisbeck.
In Ward II, the incumbent Gary Weismantel will face challenger Sheila Van Kuren.
In Ward II incumbent Troy Fuehrer will face Kabrina Haar. All seats are two-year terms.
In the school board election there are two, three-year terms open. The incumbent Josh Sayler is running for re-election with Dena Hanson and Tim McNeil also seeking one of the open seats.
– Katie Zerr –