Mobridge Weather

Mostly cloudy

Heidi Olson wins Region 4A cross country title

Heidi Olson leads Kinsey Evans of Chamberlain heading down the stretch at the Region 4A Cross Country Meet in Chamberlain on Thursday. The freshman went on to win her first region title in a time of 19 minutes, 21 seconds. PHOTO BY RYAN DEAL, MITCHELL REPUBLIC

Freshman Heidi Olson did something no Lady Tiger had done in 16 years when she won the Region 4A Cross Country Meet title in Chamberlain on Thursday.
Olson ran a dominating race. Her winning time of 19 minutes, 21 seconds, beat runner-up Kinsey Evans of Chamberlain by 29 seconds. At the Big Dakota Conference Meet in Chamberlain in late September, Evans beat Olson by 14 seconds.
Of the region winners, Ashlynn Batchelor of Milbank in Region 1, Faith Wiese of Flandreau in Region 2, Emily Plucker of Lennox in Region 3 and Abby Cutler of Hill City in Region 5, Olson had the fastest time. But Cutler, who finished second in state last year, will be considered the favorite at the state meet.
The Lady Tigers have not had a region winner since 2004 when Caitlyn Friesz won the Region 4A title and went on take second in state.
The Tigers will be running at state as a team for the second time in three years after taking third place. The Tigers had five runners in the top 15, leading to 35 points in team standings. Miller won the region title with 23 points. Winner Area was second with 25 points.
Tigers seniors Blaise Thompson and Kamron Pearman led the Tigers with top 10 finishes. Thompson took eighth with 18:06, while Pearman took 10th with 18:21.
Junior Bryson Vetch came in after Pearman with an 11th-place time of 18:26. Sophomore Remmington Ford took 14th at 18:50 and freshman Kody Keller took 15th at 18:56. Junior Chad Good Shield just missed the top 20, coming in a 22nd and running 20:30.
Coach Nathan Ford said the team went into the meet with a plan, executed it and did the job.
“Everybody works hard,” said Ford. “They got the results they wanted.”

State Meet
The State Cross Country Meet is Saturday at Hart Ranch Camping Resort in Rapid City. Class A are the final two races of the day. The complete schedule is (mountain standard time): Class B Girls Race, 10 a.m.; Class B Boys Race, 10:45 a.m.; Class AA Girls Race, 12:45 p.m.; Class AA Boys Race, 1:30 p.m.; Class A Girls Race, 3:30 p.m.; Class A Boys Race, 4:15 p.m.

Region 4A Cross Country Meet
Boys Division
Team Scores: Miller 23, Winner Area 25, Mobridge-Pollock 35, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton 65.
Individual Results: 1. Dom Santiago, Chamberlain, 16:43; 2. Kade Watson, Winner Area, 16:45; 3. Declan Tveit, Chamberlain, 16:48; 4. Alex Schumacher, Miller, 17:09; 5. Pierce Baumberger, Miller, 17:24; 6. Joseph Laprath, Winner Area, 17:28; 7. Kylar Meek, Winner Area, 17:56; 8. Blaise Thompson, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:06; 9. Caden Gortmaker, Miller, 18:11; 10. Kamron Pearman, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:21;
11. Bryson Vetch, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:26; 12. Logan Tlam, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 18:26; 13. Kellan Hurd, Miller, 18:42; 14. Remmington Ford, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:50; 15. Kody Keller, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:56; 16. Ethan Harrell, Miller, 19:21; 17. Evan Archambault, McLaughlin, 19:21; 18. Chaz Blotsky, Winner Area, 19:46; 19. Derrick Fletcher, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 19:57; 20. Isaiah Gortmaker, Miller, 20:03; 21. Riley Gregorson, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 20:08; 22. Chad Good Shield, Mobridge-Pollock, 20:30; 23. Hayden McMurtrey, Winner Area, 20:43; 24. Spencer Frost, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 20:49; 25. Colt Norman, Stanley County, 21:08; 26. Scooter Eagle, McLaughlin, 21:12; 27. Jonah Mosel, Chamberlain, 21:20; 28. Caden Barnes, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 21:21; 29. Tyson Peterson, Stanley County, 22:35; 30. Carter Davis, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 22:52.

Girls Division
Team Scores: Chamberlain 10, Winner Area 48, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton 58, Stanley County 60, Miller 63.
Individual Results: Heidi Olson, Mobridge-Pollock, 19:21; 2. Kinsey Evans, Chamberlain, 19:50; 3. Allison Hough, Chamberlain, 20:45; 4. Aine Graesser, Chamberlain, 20:51; 5. Kylah Biggins, Chamberlain, 21:01; 6. Suri Schmidt, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 21:08; 7. Sidda Schuyler, Winner Area, 21:17; 8. Samantha Peppel, Chamberlain, 21:27; 9. Ella Phillips, Chamberlain, 21:34; 10. Kaysen Magee, Stanley County, 21:36;
11. Sarah Fosheim, Stanley County, 21:52; 12. Gabby Werbel, Miller, 22:03; 13. Madeline Nye, 22:04; 14. Melanie Brozik, Winner Area, 22:12; 15. Aryn Meiners, Winner Area, 22:38; 16. Meagan Blare, Winner Area, 23:02; 17. Kyia Schmidt, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 23:16; 18. Hallie Schmidt, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 23:24; 19. Bailey Siedschlaw, Stanley County, 23:29; 20. Ellie Gates, Miller, 24:20;
21. Aida Mikkonen, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, 24:59; 22. Alana Howard, Miller, 25:50; 23. Jacy Netterville, Mobridge-Pollock, 25:51; 24. Morgan Kolda, Miller, 26:19; 25. Allison Schlomer, Stanley County, 28:05; 26. Shantay Waldron, Stanley County, 28:40; 27. Racheal Runge, Stanley County, 33:15.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *