Mobridge Weather

wind speed: 7 mph NNW

Mobridge-Pollock finds success in twilight race

With Dakota Farias taking third in his first meet of the year, the Tigers won the team title at the Roe Granger Twilight cross country meet at Moccasin Creek Country Club in Aberdeen on Friday.
“He ran a great first race,” said coach J.J. Beadle. “I think he was a little disappointed with his third-place finish, but like I told him, the more races he runs, the better he will become.”
Farias finished the 5,000-meter race in 18 minutes, 22 seconds. Beau DuBray of Timber Lake won the race at 17:29. Rhaecine Sam of Wakpala took second at 17:44.
Blaise Thompson finished sixth, Isaac Olson 12th, Kamron Pearman 13th and Chad Good Shield 15th.
“Blaire ran a great race,” said Beadle. “I was very impressed with his performance. Isaac and Kamron pushed each other the entire race. Chad was the team’s pusher. If it wasn’t for him, we would not have beaten Lisbon for the championship. We were tied in points but they didn’t have a fifth runner so we beat them.”
Team points were not given in the results.
Abby Keller ran 18:04 to take sixth in the girls’ 4,000-meter race. The Zirbel sisters, Makayla and Victoria of Dakota Hills, took first and second. Makayla ran 16:43 and Victoria ran 16:52.
Emma Fulkerson ran 21:27 to take 14th.
“Abby ran a great race,” said Beadle. “The weather was cool and she used it to her advantage. I am really proud of her continued efforts in practice and races despite some health issues she has had to endure. Emma is a stronger runner this year as she has worked hard in the offseason, which has paid off for her.”
The next outing for the cross country team is Saturday at the Ipswich Invitational. Races start at 10 a.m. at Split Rock Country Club.

Roe Granger Twilight Meet
Boys Division
Individual Results: 1. Beau DuBray, Timber Lake, 17:29; 2. Rhaecine Sam, Wakpala, 17:44; 3. Dakota Farias, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:22; 4. Peyton McNea, Lisbon, 18:46; 5. Conner Fitzgerald, Lisbon, 19:19; 6. Blaise Thompson, Mobridge-Pollock, 19:41; 7. Cody Marshall, Timber Lake, 19:57; 8. Jadus Medicine Crow, Dakota Hills, 20:11; 9. Keaten Shelton, Lisbon, 20:27; 10. Cole Franck, Leola, 20:38; 11. Lyric Medicine, Wakpala, 20:42; 12. Isaac Olson, Mobridge-Pollock, 21:29; 13. Kamron Pearman, Mobridge-Pollock, 21:30; 14. Brody Aberle, Lisbon, 21:44; 15. Chad Good Shield, Mobridge-Pollock, 23:18.

Girls Division
Individual Results: 1. Makayla Zirbel, Dakota Hills, 16:43; 2. Victoria Zirbel, Dakota Hills, 16:52; 3. Avalon Kelly, Lisbon, 17:10; 4. Delanie Larson, Potter County, 17:27; 5. Emilie Larson, Potter County, 17:32; 6. Abby Keller, Mobridge-Pollock, 18:04; 7. Emily Hatlewick, Leola, 18:17; 8. Tana Lick, Tri-State, 18:21; 9. Emma Greiner, Dakota Hills, 18:26; 10. Jatana Grajczyk, Dakota Hills, 19:07; 11. Hope Huffman, Lisbon, 19:45; 12. Brenna Lukes, Lisbon, 20:26; 13. Sydney Madsen, Tri-State, 21:05; 14. Emma Fulkerson, Mobridge-Pollock, 21:27; 15. Kailey Jackson, Tri-State, 21:46; 16. Brianna Nielson, Lisbon, 22:39.