Mobridge Weather

wind speed: 9 mph WSW

Rau, area cowboys and cowgirls set to compete at national rodeo

By NHSRA Media Coordinator Kyle Partain, Jay Davis

Madison Rau of Mobridge, along with eight area cowboys and cowgirls, will be on the South Dakota national team competing at the National High School Finals Rodeo July 14 through 20 in Rock Springs, Wyo.
Rau, a freshman at Mobridge-Pollock High School, will be competing in barrel racing after finishing third at the South Dakota High School Finals Rodeo in Belle Fourche. Laura O’Leary of Timber Lake will join her on the barrel racing squad.
Jordan Bickel of Trail City and Timber Lake High School enters the national finals as the state pole bending champion. Also pole bending will be Jana Hunt of Dupree and Sunshine Bible Academy.
Nolan Hall of Timber Lake is the state bull riding champ. The bull riders have an area flavor with Jake Frazier of Timber Lake and Dayton Spiel of Dupree also on the team.
Cassy Woodward of Dupree won state in breakaway roping. Dupree teammate Kash Deal is competing in saddle bronc riding.
Featuring more than 1,500 contestants from 41 states, five Canadian provinces and Australia, the NHSFR is the world’s largest rodeo.
In addition to competing for more than $200,000 in prizes, NHSFR contestants will also be competing for more than $350,000 in college scholarships and the chance to me named NHSFR National Champion. To earn this title, contestants must finish in the top 20, based on the combined times/scores in the first two rounds, to advance to Saturday evening’s final round. National champions will then be determined on their combined three-round times/scores.
Again this year, the Saturday championship performance will be televised nationally as part of the “Cinch Town Tour” telecast series on RFD-TV. Live broadcasts of each NHSFR performance will also air online at, powered by Performance times are 7 p.m. on July 14, and 9 a.m. and 7 p.m. each day thereafter.
Along with great rodeo competition and the chance to meet new friends from around the world, NHSFR contestants have the opportunity to enjoy shooting sports, volleyball, contestant dances, family-oriented activities, church services sponsored by the Fellowship of Christian Cowboys, and shopping at the NHSFR tradeshow.
To follow your local favorites at the NHSFR, visit daily for complete results. Ticket information can be obtained at 307-352-6789. The entire South Dakota national team is: Barrel racing- Madison Rau, Mobridge-Pollock, Laura O’Leary, Timber Lake, Taylor Engesser, Spearfish, Jorry Lammers, Hartford; Breakaway roping- Cassy Woodward, Dupree, Syerra Christensen, Kennebec, Alyssa Lockhart, Oelrichs, Brooke Howell, Belle Fourche;

Pole Bending: Jordan Bickel, Trail City, Jana Hunt, Dupree, Mazee Pauley, Wall, Bailey Moody, Letcher; Bull Riding- Nolan Hall, Timber Lake, Jake Frazier, White Horse, Dayton Spiel, Dupree, Casey Heninger, Ft. Pierre; Saddle Bronc Riding: Kash Deal, Dupree, Jordan Hunt, Faith, Tayte Clark, Teal Schmidt, Sturgis;  Bareback Riding- Shane O’Connell, Rapid City, Trig Clark, Meadow, Tayte Clark, Meadow, J.D. Anderson, Hill City; Tie-Down Roping- Treg Schaak, Edgemont, Grady Egly, Oelrichs, Jake Fulton, Valentine, Neb., Carson Johnston, Elm Springs; Goat Tying: Carlee Johnston, Elm Springs, Cedar Jandreau, Kennebec, Mazee Pauley, Rickie Engesser, Spearfish; Steer Wrestling: Cameron Fanning, Olivet, Andy Nelson, Spearfish, Tyler Gaer, Newell, Jake Fulton; Boys’ Cutting: Treg Schaack, Josh Hunt, Faith, Jade Crago, Belle Fourche, True Buchholz, Kadoka; Girls’ Cutting: Erin Kenzy, Iona, Taylor Bothwell, Pierre, Jessica Ryan, Belle Fourche, Katie Lensegrav, Interior, Shelby Strand, Harrisburg; Team Roping: Tyler Gaer and Colton Musick, Pierrel Treg Schaack and Levi Lord, Sturgis, Taylor Tupper, St. Onge and Cyler Dowling, Newell, Dalton Fischer, Centerville and Matt Nelson, Colman.