Mobridge Weather

Mostly cloudy

Three Lady Tigers earn All-Big Dakota honors

Emma Keller (#3), Ava Stoick (#8) and Landyn Henderson (#10) were named to the 2021 All-Big Dakota Conference Volleyball Team.

Lady Tigers seniors Landyn Henderson and Ava Stoick and junior Emma Keller have been named to the 2021 All-Big Dakota Conference Volleyball Team.
This is the first All-BDC selection for each of the Lady Tigers. Due to COVID-19 the Big Dakota Conference Tournament was not held last season and no All-BDC team was chosen.
“All three of these athletes are very deserving of this award,” said coach Rose Henderson.
In regular season play, the Big Dakota Conference Tournament and the postseason, the Lady Tigers posted an 8-2 record against their BDC foes.
In those 10 matches, Henderson had 68 kills and 21 blocks from her middle hitter position, while adding 13 service aces.
“Landyn is a strong offensive player who is a great leader on and off the court,” said Henderson.
On top of the All-BDC selection, Henderson has been invited to play in the 2021 South Dakota All-Star Volleyball Match in Harrisburg on Sunday, Dec. 5. The all-star match is held in conjunction with the SD Miss Volleyball Banquet.
Stoick, the Lady Tiger libero, had 110 digs against BDC competition and served up seven aces.
“Ava has improved so much this year as our primary defender,” said Henderson. “She gave 100% at all times and sacrificed her body many times to play the ball.”
Keller put up numbers around the court as the team’s leading setter and also as a hitter. Keller had 119 assists, 32 kills and 33 aces in BDC play.
“Emma is a very driven, intense competitor who strives for success every time she steps on the court,” said Henderson.
After a 23-9 season, the Lady Tigers will return 11 of the 15 from this year’s varsity as Henderson, Stoick, Leah Overland and Gabby Zimmer were the only seniors.

All-Big Dakota Conference Volleyball Team
Mobridge-Pollock: seniors Landyn Henderson, Ava Stoick, junior Emma Keller; Cheyenne-Eagle Butte: senior Cassie Carter; Winner: seniors Ellie Brozik, Jenna Hammerbeck, Skyler Hansen; Miller: juniors Ally Mullany, Tyra Gates; Stanley County: senior Jordyn Sosa; Crow Creek: senior Rozee Drapeau; Todd County: senior Alexis Walking Eagle.
Honorable Mention
McLaughlin: junior Holly Miller; Cheyenne-Eagle Butte: senior Ahmyli Clark, junior Lauryn Keckler; Winner: junior Libby Petersek; Miller: juniors Abby Blake, Jaden Werdel; Stanley County: senior Taylee Stroup, junior Olivia Chase; Chamberlain: seniors Mya Knippling, Jayslee Petersen; Crow Creek: junior Samantha Seaboy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *